The Team Working to Make it All Happen

Leadership team

Hiep-Hoa T. Nguyen, PhD


Dr. Nguyen has acted as President and Chief Science Officer for a number of biotech companies that he founded or co-founded. Dr. Nguyen received his Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, both summa cum laude from the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his PhD. in Chemistry/Biophysics from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech). He was a recipient of a National Institutes of Health Pre-doctoral Fellowship and a WR Grace Fellowship while at Caltech pursuing his PhD. He was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow while at MIT. Dr. Nguyen is involved on a full time basis with the company.

Lorne Mattner, MBA


Mr. Mattner is an executive with a track record that includes building start up companies, both domestically and in Asia, fund raising and two successful exits. He earned his MBA and BS from the University of Southern California.

Sanjay Jayachandran, PhD


Dr. Jayachandran received his PhD from UC Riverside and was a National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Southern California.

Marianne M.T Nguyen-Baillache

Co-founder, Chief Business Officer

Mrs. Nguyen received her undergraduate and graduate training at Georgia Institute of Technology, UCI and UMass Amherst. She held senior leadership positions with Honeywell Safety Products, Ametek Aerospace, Tyco International, ICI and various private ventures. She has over 25 years of leadership and industrial experiences in the areas of Operational Excellence/Six Sigma, New Product Developments, Operations, Supplier Chain, and Program Management.

Victoria Nguyen


Ms. Nguyen graduated top of her class at Georgia Institute of Technology. After graduating from Georgia Institute of Technology, she went on to work for Western Digital, Motorola, Sony, IBM, AMD and FS international. She also co-founded various startups.

David Kane, PhD

Senior Consultant

Dr. Kane received his MA in Chemistry from the University of Cambridge and his PhD. in Biophysics from the Max Planck Institute, and performed his post doctoral study at the University of Southern California.


Prof. Reynaldo Dietze

Dr. Reynaldo Dietze is currently an Associate Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for Infectious Diseases at the Federal University of Espírito Santo (UFES), Vitória, Brazil. Dr. Dietze was a former President of the Brazilian Society of Tropical Medicine.

Prof. Mark Nicol

Prof. Mark Nicol is currently is Head of the Division of Medical Microbiology at the University of Cape Town and holds a joint appointment with the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) of South Africa. He has an enthusiasm for using modern molecular tools to understand complex microbial communities and help to develop better diagnostics for infections, particularly for diseases relating to poverty. He has done several works on diagnostics for tuberculosis in children and adults, which has provided an evidence base for the new molecular tuberculosis tests used worldwide. He has contributed to many WHO policy recommendations and guidelines.

Prof. Lyudmila Bazhenova, MD

Prof. Lyudmila Bezhenova is currently a Clinical Professor at UC San Diego, and Lung Cancer Unit Leader at Scripps Green Hospital. She is a board certified medical oncologist and hematologist with expertise in lung cancer. She is an active participant in clinical research, including designing and implementing clinical investigations at Moores Cancer Center.

Prof. Sunney I. Chan

Prof. Chan is the George Grant Hoag Professor of Biophysics, Emeritus at Caltech, and was Vice President (Emeritus) of Academia Sinica (Taiwan).

Prof. Davide Manissero, MD

Dr. Davide Manissero is currently Chief Medical Officer – Infection and Immune Diagnostics at QIAGEN and an Honorary Senior Lecturer in Public Health at the University College of London. His experience spans from diagnostic to drug development including novel antitubercular drugs and gram negative MDR cephalosporins. Previously he held senior public health positions at WHO and European CDC. He has published over 70 peer-reviewed articles and conference abstracts on tuberculosis and he is regarded as an expert in the field. He is also an associate fellow at the WHO Collaborating Centre for TB, Tradate, Italy. He received his MD from Universita’ Cattolica del Sacro Cuore and MS in Tropical Medicine and International Health from London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, University of London.

Scroll to Top